Crabbys – Roasted Cauliflower and White Cheddar Bisque & Spring Gnocchi

Crabbys Fresh Seafood and Market Grill
Wifi: Yes, ask for password
Hangability: 7/10

For some reason, this place intimidates me. Maybe it’s because I’ve met the head chef and – he’s terrifying. Maybe it’s because I don’t like seafood, or it could also be because this place (and Mythos) seem off limits to my whole schtick.

I went to Crabbys on a Friday for a quick bite. I wasn’t sure what their wifi situation was, so I gave them a call to see if they offered it free. The girl said they did, but it wasn’t very strong. I debated even going by, but I really needed to do some quick research and I was kinda itching to do a blogpost for Crabbys. That’s not to say I don’t have plenty of others in the chamber. But whatever, I went ahead and lugged the ol’ laptop in.

Well, the wifi was fine. I didn’t even have to connect because my computer remembered the info from a previous experience. Jackpot. The lunch menu was much better than I could have hoped too.

 

IMG_20170602_133330IMG_20170602_133325

Roasted Cauliflower and White Cheddar Bisque – $4.00

“Mirepoix, Applewood smoked bacon, fresh cream”

This soup was really different. It was comparable to a potato soup but much lighter and overall it tasted like it was better for you. The soup had an air of sweetness to it. It came out at the perfect temperature. It did need some salt, but I suppose any good soup would allow the person eating to decide the amount of salt needed.

IMG_20170602_131127

I couldn’t say enough good about this soup. A+ rating here.

Spring Gnocchi – $12.00

“Hand rolled in house, brown butter, sweet peas, crispy porkbelly, Parmesan cream sauce”

If you’ve never had gnocchi, you might be in for a treat. It’s incredibly rare to find gnocchi in Joplin, I’m not even sure of any other place that has it. This gnocchi is also handmade and quite large, if I may say so myself.

While at Crabbys, I was asking the waitress if they had ever sold stuffed handmade pasta. She said they had, for a spell, but no longer do. The conversation quickly moved to her describing to me the process of making gnocchi. She couldn’t have known I make pasta and its cousins for fun, regularly. I currently have ninety in my freezer.

When describing the process she forgot to mention adding flour so instead of nodding and pretending she taught me something new, I interjected to ask if they also added flour. She said they did, and her womansplaining sesh ended.

I know it seems I’m kinda salty about the explanation, I’m not (maybe I was). But I understand she was being nice and helpful, and I think that’s really cool.

Anyway, the stuff was awesome. The gnocchi’s were nice and plump, the sauce was perfectly creamy, tangy, with a douse of sweet that comes from the peas.

IMG_20170602_131515

Last thoughts

I feel like if anyone here has read my posts, you’ll know I don’t just give A+ reviews out like candy. I can almost always find some improvement in a dish.

Not here boys, not here.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

