Tokyo Steak & Sushi – Hibachi Meal

WiFi: unknown, doubtful.
Hangability:
 0/10 for hibachi. 6/10 for secondary sushi area – if you don’t mind stares.  
Website: 
http://www.tokyosteakandsushi.com/index.html
Address: 511 N Rangeline Joplin Mo 6480X

This post has been a long time coming. Even before my first post I noted about section with a reference to the affordability that the Japanese Steakhouse offers during lunch. It has taken a while for me to get here, remember to take pics, and eventually make a post.

There are so many things I love about this place, this post is going to be long. But I’ll just tell you right now – I give it a 10/10 for lunch. Here’s a copy of their lunch menu. As you can see, there are some reasonable items here.

menu

The image I included is nowhere near the entire lunch menu, just what I think is the most important part.

Every hibachi meal comes with onion soup, ginger salad, noodles, rice, veggies, and whatever meat you’d like. If you’re not into that sort of thing, you can get outta there with a water for $7.25 before tax. NICE. Legit, no way you can get a meal that cheap at Schlotzsky’s and feel fancy.

The Atmosphere

The setup of hibachi is really cool once they start cooking. Until they do? Ehhhhh kinda weird. Everyone can hear what each other is saying. There’s this integration of conversations here and there. It’s not a huge deal, especially if you’re the outgoing sort. If you have a debilitating anxiety issue? You might really want to scope the place out and get a feel for what to expect.

floor

The Sauce

With your meal comes two dipping sauces. They serve what I believe is the ginger dressing on one side of the ramekin and some yumyum sauce on the other side. I, and others as I’ve noticed opt for double yumyum sauce. You just have to let them know.

I’ve made a perfect dupe for yumyum sauce at home and if you’re wondering what the ingredients are, wonder no more. It’s mayo, tomato paste, water, butter, garlic powder, paprika, cayenne, and sugar. They may add some fish sauce or other secret addition, but that’s the bones of it.

The Chef

These men have such fun personalities, at least the ones I’ve interacted with. They make jokes, poke fun, and really add to the fun of the experience. You can expect to play a strange game of catch with a piece of shrimp and your mouth.

Soup – included in hibachi
The soup they serve is this really mild onion broth with small pieces of mushroom and chives. If you’re like me and the mushrooms seem off-putting – you can’t taste ‘em and you can eat around them. Overall, I think the soup accomplishes its goal. It is extremely light, as I’ve mentioned a million times before, I like rich soups but I have no critiques here. With all the food you get in this meal, it’s probably best to keep it light.

IMG_20170604_163709

Salad – included in hibachi

The salad is good, I suppose. I’ve got beef with the super watery iceberg lettuce they use. The dressing has this sweet, light, ginger-y taste. I’m almost 30 and I’m still not really sure what ginger tastes like. I’ve had it plenty of times, sure. But it’s such an understated taste when done right.

salad

Hibachi – $7.95-$9.95 – Filet Mignon – $15.00

fire

I opted for the steak this go around. There was a miscommunication because I got filet mignon. When they brought out the meats, they kept my steak separate from this gentleman that was sitting with us. Usually, they keep all like meats with each other. He double checked everyone’s meals and when he came around to me he said something like “oh, you got the xxxx (whatever) steak. Very nice, very good!” Gotta say, I kinda felt like a baller. What can I say? I have good taste. But to be totally honest, I would never have gotten filet mignon.

I ordered it med-rare and it was incredible. Perfect. So good, I didn’t get any pictures. I think I’ve mentioned before I tend to get embarrassed when taking pics of my meal in close quarters. It makes me feel like a cliché millennial grammin’ my food #insta #hibachi #sundayfunday (OMG I loathe that one).

IMG_20170604_164708

IMG_20170604_165841

In closing, I’ll add a couple more things. The drinks are weak as hell, not worth it at all. I had two and it was equal to less than a large sip of red wine. Tasty tho. You can see the ticket right below. If you’re trying to gauge how much you might spend just subtract the mixed drinks ($12), the fried rice ($3) – if you get white rice it’s included. New total: $28 for top tier steak, a kids steak meal, appetizer, and a pop. We were also celebrating a birthday, so I went a little crazy.

IMG_20170604_171855

Leave a Reply

